Apple makes it easy to limit access to a particular app when temporarily sharing an iPhone with others and can prevent the use of certain features.
There are times when lending an iPhone feels like the right thing to do but comes with a concern about handing over Apple passwords, payment information, and more to someone else. Thankfully, there is a way to protect data, logins, and even access to apps and features, making it much safer to share an iPhone when the need arises.
Apple has made a point of boasting about its privacy and security features. But, in truth, an iPhone goes much further to protect the user from tracking and being somewhat of a walled garden. The App Store tends to be a safer place to shop for apps than competing solutions from Google and Samsung. Apple even helps its users keep their information secure when sharing with others using a feature called Guided Access.
Users can set up the iPhone to stay within a particular app, which allows, for example, the phone app or camera app to be shared and nothing else. Apple goes a step further. Parts of the screen can be blocked from receiving touch input, preventing the borrower from using the on-screen buttons to view contacts or browse photos. There are plenty of options to fine-tune how Guided Access works, and once set up, Apple made it quick and easy to use, only requiring a triple-click to enable it.
How To Use iPhone Guided Access
Users must set up the iPhone’s Guided Access before using it, and the options are found in the Settings app, under the Accessibility tab. It should be enabled, and Accessibility Shortcut allows the use of a triple-click to activate using the side button or the Home button when using a Touch ID iPhone. If preferred, guided Access can also be added to Control Center, but exiting still requires a triple-click. In these settings, there are several options, including setting a passcode, which can be different from the iPhone’s unlock passcode, giving a spoken countdown if a time limit is set, and more.
Once enabled in Settings, users can set up any app with options that are remembered when that app is used with Guided Access again. The first time this feature is activated with an app, instructions guide the user to draw around any portions of the screen that should be disabled, such as the preview button in the camera app or the contacts button in the phone app. In addition, there are options to disable physical buttons, set a time limit for use, and more. With a bit of time is spent setting it up, Apple’s Guided Access makes it easy to protect privacy and security while lending out an iPhone.
Next: Updating To iOS 15 Is Now Mandatory As Apple Axes iOS 14 Security Updates
Jurassic World Dominion’s New Dino Twist Is Exactly What The Movie Needs
About The Author